





Riiacademy - India's Most Popular UPSC-CSE Portal

IAS Red Notes



Evolution of Indian constitution

Evolution of Indian constitution

The Company Rule (1773-1858)

During this era, the British East India Company held significant control over Indian territories. A series of legislative acts were passed to regulate the company's administration and its relationship with the Indian populace.

- 1. **Regulating Act, 1773**: This act marked the beginning of parliamentary control over the East India Company, establishing a Governor-General of Bengal and a Supreme Court at Calcutta.
- 2. **Amending Act, 1781**: Also known as the Declaratory Act, it clarified the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court and its relationship with the Governor-General-in-Council.
- 3. **Pitt's India Act, 1784**: This act established a dual system of control by the British government and the East India Company through the Board of Control.
- 4. **Amending Act of 1786**: This act provided the Governor-General with more authoritative power, allowing for decisive governance.
- 5. **Charter Act, 1793**: It renewed the Company's charter and consolidated earlier regulations.
- Charter Act, 1813: This act ended the Company's monopoly over trade in India, opening the Indian market to British merchants while continuing the monopoly over tea and trade with China.
- 7. **Charter Act, 1833**: The act centralized Indian administration, making the Governor-General of Bengal the Governor-General of India. It also allowed for the legislative centralization of India.
- 8. **Charter Act, 1853**: This act renewed the Company's charter without a specified time limit and introduced an open competition system for the recruitment of civil servants.

The Crown Rule (1858-1947)

The transition from Company rule to Crown rule began after the Revolt of 1857, with the British Crown taking direct control over India, leading to significant legislative changes.

- Government of India Act, 1858: This act transferred all authority from the East India Company to the British Crown, creating the office of the Secretary of State for India and the Indian Council.
- 2. **Indian Councils Act, 1861**: It reintroduced legislative councils in Indian provinces and allowed for limited representation of Indians in the legislature.
- 3. **Indian Councils Act, 1892**: This act expanded the councils and introduced an indirect election system.

IAS Red Notes



- 4. **Indian Councils Act, 1909**: Also known as the Morley-Minto Reforms, this act allowed Indians to be elected to the councils and introduced separate electorates for Muslims.
- 5. **Government of India Act, 1919**: Also known as the Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms, it introduced a dyarchy system in provinces, dividing subjects into 'transferred' and 'reserved' categories, with more autonomy for Indian ministers.
- 6. **Simon Commission, 1927**: Aimed to review the workings of the 1919 Act, the commission faced widespread boycott by Indians due to the absence of Indian members.
- Government of India Act, 1935: This was the most comprehensive act, proposing an all-India
 federation and granting provincial autonomy. It also introduced direct elections and extended
 the franchise.
- 8. **Indian Independence Act, 1947**: This act marked the end of British rule in India, leading to the creation of India and Pakistan as independent dominions.

Constitution of Free India

The transition from colonial rule to a sovereign republic required meticulous planning and dedication, culminating in the adoption of the Indian Constitution.

- 1. **Formation of Constituent Assembly, 1946**: The Constituent Assembly was formed to draft the Indian Constitution. It comprised representatives from various provinces and princely states.
- 2. **Drafting by Constituent Assembly**: Dr. B.R. Ambedkar chaired the Drafting Committee. The drafting process involved extensive debates and discussions, resulting in a detailed and inclusive constitution.
- 3. **Adoption of Constitution, 26th November 1949**: The Constitution was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on this date, signifying a new era for India.
- 4. **Constitution came into effect, 26th January 1950**: The Indian Constitution came into force, and India became a sovereign, democratic republic.

Key Features and Legacy of the Indian Constitution

The Indian Constitution is a remarkable document, reflecting India's diversity and commitment to democracy, social justice, and human rights. Some key features include:

- Preamble: It outlines the objectives of the Constitution, including justice, liberty, equality, and fraternity.
- Fundamental Rights: The Constitution guarantees fundamental rights to all citizens, such as the right to equality, freedom of speech, and protection against discrimination.
- **Directive Principles of State Policy**: These principles guide the government in making policies aimed at promoting social and economic welfare.
- **Federal Structure**: The Constitution establishes a federal structure with a clear division of powers between the central and state governments.

黑

IAS Red Notes

• **Independent Judiciary**: The Constitution ensures an independent judiciary to uphold the rule of law and protect citizens' rights.

Impact and Relevance Today

The Indian Constitution remains a living document, constantly evolving to address contemporary challenges. It has been amended numerous times to reflect the changing needs and aspirations of the Indian people. The Constitution's resilience and adaptability have ensured the stability and growth of India as a democratic nation.

Conclusion

Understanding the historical evolution of the Indian Constitution provides valuable insights into the country's journey from colonial subjugation to a thriving democracy. The Constitution stands as a testament to the vision and dedication of India's founding leaders, who envisioned a just and inclusive society for all citizens. As India continues to progress, the Constitution remains the cornerstone of its democratic framework, guiding the nation towards a brighter future.

Did You Know?

- The Indian Independence Act of 1947 was an act passed by the British Parliament that partitioned British India into two independent dominions: India and Pakistan. The act was enacted on July 18, 1947, and India gained independence on August 15, 1947.
- The 3rd June 1947 Plan was also known as the Mountbatten Plan.
- Jawaharlal Nehru took charge as Prime Minister of India on 15 August 1947. Vallabhbhai Patel served as the Deputy Prime Minister. Lord Mountbatten, and later C. Rajagopalachari, served as Governor-General until 26 January 1950, when Rajendra Prasad was elected as the first President of India.